In the listings below, “Contacts” are persons within San Dieguito United Methodist Church (SDUMC) unless otherwise noted.  The persons listed for “Info” are SDUMC congregants with experience volunteering at the listed organization.   Please contact John Swan at  760 942-3465 or jjet65@yahoo.com if you have questions regarding the information below.  You may also give him feedback on your experience volunteering so he can provide that information to others.

BREAD OF LIFE
We prepare dinner in our church kitchen and deliver and serve it at the homeless shelter in Oceanside the third Tuesday of each month.
Contact – John Trexel – jtrexel22@juno.com or Carol Sadler – csadler009@hotmail.com or 760 436-2769.
Bread of Life sometimes needs additional assistance such as help with financial assistance, picking up food from business donors, providing/serving dinner on other dates.
Website: www.bolrescue.org  contact there: Raylene Bassett 760 458-2612.

C.A.R.E. Team
Provides assistance, resources, and encouragement to SDUMC worshipers in time of physical or emotional need.
Contact – Lynne Calkins – lc1np@cox.net or 760 632-8029.
See further description on this website under Outreach and Missions, Congregational Assistance.

COMMUNITY RESOURCE CENTER (CRC)
Help in food bank, thrift store, office assistance, events throughout the year, holiday basket program.
Contact at CRC: Colleen Collazoccollazo@crcncc.org or 760 753-1156, ext. 1305.
Info: Randa Krakow randakra@cox.net  or 760 942-2393.
Website: www.crcncc.org

HABITAT FOR HUMANITY
Hands on building homes for limited income persons.
To volunteer register at Habit’s website www.sdhfh.org
Contact at Habitat: Melanie 619 283-4663, ext 316, MelanieS@sdhfh.org
Website www.sdhfh.org
Info: Larry Herrmann  larry.herrmann@gmail.com  or  760 631-7480

INTERFAITH COMMUNITY SERVICES
Provides services to communities in Escondido and Oceanside locations and senior assistance in San Marcos and Vista.  Volunteer opportunities include preparing and serving meals, working at the food pantry, providing office help.
Website: www.interfaithservices.org
Contact at Interfaith: Jennifer Maestas 760 489-6380 ext221  jmaestas@interfaithservices.org

INTERFAITH SHELTER NETWORK
Help w/ 2 week hosting homeless guests at SDUMC.
Contact – Lynne Calkins – 760 632-8029 or lc1np@cox.net
Website: www.interfaithshelter.org

LAUBACH LITERACY COUNCIL
Teach English to speakers of other languages, also reading and writing where applicable.
Monday Evenings:  7:00 -9:00 pm and/or Tuesday mornings:  9:00 -11:00 am at SDUMC.
Contact: Anne Nation  nation1359@cox.net 753-3649
Website: www.laubachsandiego.org

METRO SAN DIEGO
SDUMC group brings food and gifts to downtown San Diego Good Neighbor Center on holidays.
Contact: Mary Walman – marywalman@att.net or  760 931-7980.
Website: www.metrosandiego.org

NEIGHBORHOOD HOUSE OF CALEXICO
Occasional group projects at this community center/social services agency.
Contact – Ann Clarke – jacknann50@hotmail.com or  760 753-4853.
Website: www.clxnh.org

NEW ENTRA CASA
Occasional projects for this program which provides assistance for just-released female prisoners transitioning back into society.
Contact: Betty Putnam – betty.putnam@gmail.com or 760 753-3210.
Website: www.sandiego.networkofcare.org (search under Services for “New Entra Casa”)

RANCHO COASTAL HUMANE SOCIETY
Help in the office or work with dogs, cats or rabbits.
Contact:  Mary Pilon – 760 753-6413
Web: www.rchumanesociety.org  (has good description of most volunteer opportunities and online volunteer sign-up)
Info:   Sandy Hayes – sandy.hayes@gmail.com or 760 634-1498

STATE PARKS (North County Coastal)
Work projects (such as trail clearing and beach clean-up) at North Coastal San Diego state parks.
Contact: Laura Ohman – 619 840-2204 or lohman@parks.ca.gov
Info: Mary Ann Jones- majones15@cox.net or 760 436-0658